Resolved

Heya,

The prompt for today was, “Have you ever made a New Years resolution that you kept?”

No, I don’t really make New Years resolutions. I do regularly make mid-month resolutions, which is how this whole 365 Days of Blogging thing happened.

Last month my mid-month resolution was to break my daily tasks into 90 minute chunks, because I read somewhere (probably 99U) that 90 minutes was the maximum amount of time that you could focus on one task before starting to suffer burnout and becoming less productive. I still think that breaking up  tasks into hour and half chunks is a good idea, and when I got started on it I was on vacation, so I can say that it does work (I got a LOT of writing done in that week). However, I think it’s easier to break your day up that way when you have control of your schedule. And I don’t. Time-sensitive things are regularly thrown at me in the middle of the day, the middle of the week, disrupting my schedule and fucking with the patterns I try to establish.

Or I’m just more tired when I get home from work than I thought I would be when I made my schedule.

I still think that it’s a good idea, but I have to work the kinks out in terms of sustaining it.

Another mid-month resolution that I made, which I got about a month of mileage out of, was exercising every day. Not actual exercising, but–okay, I have a neck thing that acts up every now and then. I used to get really bad headaches because of it. I was in a minor car accident that, despite being minor, twinged a nerve at the base of my skull-that area where your neck meets your head. I saw a physiotherapist for it for a while and he gave me exercises to do. And I was really shit at doing them, even though not doing them sometimes resulted in horrible shooting pains in my head. I was supposed to do them three times a day, but I’d forget how many times I’d done them, or think I’d done them when I hadn’t. And so on and so forth.

So I put different coloured elastic bands on my wrist and when I had done a set of exercises, I moved them over to my other wrist. And that worked for a while. But the thing is, I hate being encumbered. I don’t wear much jewelry, I don’t layer my clothing, I don’t like to carry my lunch in a separate bag and resent the fact that I kind of have to if I don’t want to risk food getting out of it’s container and damaging my computer. The problem became that I didn’t like having the elastic bands on my wrist, so I would take them off when they annoyed me and then, somewhere along the line, I forgot to put them back on.

I’ve also, at various times, resolved to make smoothies because I’m shit at eat breakfast in the morning. I’ve made a million different time-management resolutions in my life. I resolved not to buy The Last of Us until it cost less than $40 (and I kept that resolution and bought it last week for $35–small victories). I regularly resolve to stop tumbling down internet rabbit holes, or just tumbling through Tumblr, and fail.

This is really turning into a story of failure, isn’t it?

I guess you’ll bear witness to how this mid-month resolutions goes. I have posts scheduled until October (just the prompts, not any pre-writing beyond that, that would defeat the purpose, I think). I was briefly locked out of posting by WordPress because (FYI, in case you were planning on doing this) there can only be 100 scheduled posts at a time. But that’s sorted now, and I was surprised by how annoyed I was about it. I think possibly the prospect of my failures being witnessed made me more anxious about not keeping to my mid-month resolve.

I wonder how long that will last.

What about you? Are you a fan of the mid-month resolution? Or are you just a New Years person? It might be simpler to be a New Years resolution person, honestly. I feel like I’ve wasted a lot of paper and a lot of post-its with my mid-month kicks…

Love,

B

Leave a Reply

