Answering the Proust Questionnaire

Heya

I don’t generally enjoy doing character questionnaires. I very rarely feel like I know the characters any better after I’m through with them. So I’ve decided to answer the Proust Questionnaire myself, and see if I feel differently about character questionnaire’s at the end.

What is your most marked characteristic?

B: Generosity

What is the quality you most like in a man?

B: Good humour

What is the quality you most like in a woman?

B: Good humour

What do you most value in your friends?

B: Good conversation and companionable silence

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?

B: Glibness

What is your favourite occupation?

B: Looking at his, I feel like this is actually asking what your favourite thing to do is, not your favourite job/career. In which case, cuddling with puppies.

What is your idea of perfect happiness?

B: Writing in a pillow fort that I’ve built in my living room.

What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?

B: Having no drive to do anything.

In which country would you like to live?

B: Anywhere people I love are.

Who are your favourite writers?

B: Jorge Luis Borges, Robin Hobb, Rick Riordan, Allen Bradley, Brent Weeks, Gillian Flynn

Who are your favourite poets?

B: Lorca, Cavafy, Dawn, H.D., Cohen

Who is your favourite hero of fiction?

B: Roland Deschain

Who is your favourite heroine of fiction?

B: The Paperbag Princess

Who are your favourite composers?

B: Schubert, Griegg, and Rachmaninoff

Who are your favourite painters?

B: Iran Darroudi, Cezanne, Van Gogh. I also love whoever is leaving those paper sculptures in the Scottish libraries.

What are your favourite names?

B: Kate, Sakura, James, William.

What is it that you most dislike?

B: Endless vague questioning at the end of a long day

Which talent would you most like to have?

B: Dance. I enjoy dancing but I know I’m not good at it.

How would you like to die?

B: Old and satisfied.

What is your current state of mind?

B: Cautiously optimistic

What is your motto?

B: Try to learn something from everything

Proust’s (supposed) answers.

Yeah, that was hard. If anything, harder than if I were answering it for a particular character. Maybe that’s why I’m not a huge fan of character questionnaires-they often seem to demand that you know more about a character than you know about yourself.

Love,

B

Leave a Reply

