Sick day movie marathon

Heya,

I am feeling very sick and somewhat nostalgic. What I used to do when I was sick was watch a lot of movies and make chicken noodle soup, because it was the only thing I knew how to make when I was a kid (the recipe, by the way, is as follows: get a can of Campbell’s chicken noodle soup, open it, dump it in a pot, add another can of water and stir occasionally until it’s no longer can temperature).

My Ten Most Viewed Sick-Day Movies

(not always watched consecutively, though I can’t say it’s never happened)(warning, all links go out to trailers. Don’t click if you’re somewhere you can’t have noise)

1. The Princess Bride

Simple. Classic. And the kid is sick, too!

2. The Princess Diaries

The first movie I ever saw Anne Hathaway in (I think), and Julie Andrews in this reminded me of my grandma.

3. A Little Princess

I swear this isn’t a Princess themed list.

After watching this movie, I am inevitably moved to call one or both of my parents and tell them how much I love them.

4. Drop Dead Gorgeous

Don’t watch the trailer. Don’t read the synopsis. Just know that this movie is awesome, and if you haven’t watched it, I am sad for you.

5. A Knight’s Tale

Heath Ledger is a peasant who pretends to be a knight and is very good at it and falls in love and stuff. Paul Bettany and Alan Tudyk are just hilarious.

6. Pleasantville

Two youths get sucked into the TV and have to live in the black and white world of a ’50s sitcom.

7. Shaun of the Dead

The first in the Cornetto Trilogy, takes on all the tropes of the zombie movie. I’m literally watching this movie right now.

8. Resident Evil

Another zombie movie, this one a bit more fight-y. I can defeat the virus, too! Or at the very least, I can do karate hands on the couch.

9. The Mummy

And if I can’t beat the virus, maybe I can be resurrected by some ancient curse that someone will foolishly read from a book that gives you a heads up in it’s very title. Let me just read aloud from “The Book of the Dead” shall I? Yes, that sounds like a capital idea.

10. Young Frankenstein

One of Mel Brooks’ best.

That’s it. That’s my most viewed.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go view some of them.

Love,

B

2 thoughts on “Sick day movie marathon

    • Love the 1995 Pride and Prejudice. And I never thought about it, but you’re totally right-the ratio of doing stuff to voice-over narrating the content of letters is pretty good for sick listening!

Leave a Reply

